Flute Society of NSW


Back to All Events

The Hour Glass Ensemble – Wonderland

The Hour Glass Ensemble presents:



European and Australian masterworks in chamber music for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, percussion and piano, including Rachmaninoff’s piano trio “Élégiaque” and the whimsical new “Lobster Tales and Turtle Soup” based on Alice in Wonderland, by Sydney composer Holly Harrison.

“Will you walk a little faster?” said a whiting to a snail.

“There’s a porpoise close behind us, and he’s treading on my tail.” – Alice in Wonderland

Hourglass, Sydney’s favourite international chamber music export, brings all kinds of people together. Audience meet music makers, gaining the feeling of being inside the music. Classics of Romantic ear repertory appear with new commissions, and composers mix instrumentalists in unusual, beguiling combinations.

Featured are three stunning recent works – Harrison’s rock-jazz vamp with devilish drumkit solos, built on text of Lewis Carroll’s “Alice in Wonderland”; Ball’s tour around the world, appropriating rhythmic traditions from old-school delta blues, to Korean Jangdan music, and Afro-Cuban clave; and lastly, Nikolai Kapustin’s flighty and bluesy trio for flute, cello and piano.

Flutes – Ewa Kowalski

Clarinets/director – Andrew Kennedy

Violin – Alastair Duff-Forbes

Cello – Steve Meyer

Percussion – Timothy Brigden

Piano – Anna Rutkowska-Schock